On topic of custom quests...

Creating new content for Millénaire
Post Reply
Xavyer
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 4:54 pm

On topic of custom quests...

Post by Xavyer » Sun Feb 23, 2014 5:01 pm

I need some questions to be answered:
  • Do the quests in "millenaire-custom" can show up in-game?
  • Do I need to put them into folder "millenaire/quests"?
  • Or I have to send quest to someone who makes it available?

carriontrooper
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 2:14 pm

Re: On topic of custom quests...

Post by carriontrooper » Mon Feb 24, 2014 5:31 am

Looking at the vanilla ones, the quest txt decides where the quest can go (AKA which villager in which culture) so you don't have to write anything questwise in the villager txt. As for the quests in custom appearing in-game, I guess it works, since Druha's vanilla culture's quests work from the custom folder. But to date nobody has tried putting standalone quests in custom/quests.

It might work.

Xavyer
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 4:54 pm

Re: On topic of custom quests...

Post by Xavyer » Mon Feb 24, 2014 12:42 pm

Even if I wrote it myself? (using guide on creating quests) Cause at the villager where I wanted this quest to appear, it never appeared, though I tried multiple options :!: :x (all regarding changing the .txt file...)
I don't know why I feel like a :geek:

carriontrooper
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 2:14 pm

Re: On topic of custom quests...

Post by carriontrooper » Tue Feb 25, 2014 5:32 am

Ah, then you must have that villager already existing in your villagers folder.
So for example you want to create a new quest with a new questdispenser guy to give you the quest, you gotta make the questdispenser guy in villagers folder first, and put him in a village somewhere.

More info would be nice, we can troubleshoot.

Xavyer
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 4:54 pm

Re: On topic of custom quests...

Post by Xavyer » Tue Feb 25, 2014 5:47 pm

No, well, what I meant, is that the villager I want to appear in it, was in the game originally, but neither the label, or anything else showed up that had anything to do with my quest!

I can even show that .txt file if that's truly necessary, cause I wanted it for myself, but I want to test it!

Edit: If that would be helpful, I made this quest for byzantine lumberman, cause I thought there can be max. 1 quest at a villager.

carriontrooper
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 2:14 pm

Re: On topic of custom quests...

Post by carriontrooper » Wed Feb 26, 2014 4:31 am

Hmm, that's peculiar. Have you achieved the right rep level for that culture/village yet? Some quests only appear at higher rep levels, so you might want to check the requirements of your quest.

Xavyer
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 4:54 pm

Re: On topic of custom quests...

Post by Xavyer » Wed Feb 26, 2014 2:21 pm

Yeah...
This is what line with reputation looked like:
minreputation:4*64
Maybe there's something wrong with the star?
I'll try it
...
...
...
nnnNNNope! Still nothing.
Maybe I'll try changing chanceperhour, cause it is 0.1
...
...
...
Not works o' clock.

User avatar
CrikCrok
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 9:34 am

Re: On topic of custom quests...

Post by CrikCrok » Wed Feb 26, 2014 8:41 pm

Trial and error is a fundamental method of solving problems.It is characterised by repeated, varied attempts which are continued until success,or until the agent stops trying. It is an unsystematic method which does not employ insight, theory or organised methodology.

In other words, you need a lot of test to make it successful. Every person makes custom content know it. :lol:
Norman Core Buildings replacement C.XIII . 2.03 FIXED RELEASE! check it in Millenaire Library or Millenaire Forums to download it.

Xavyer
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 4:54 pm

Re: On topic of custom quests...

Post by Xavyer » Thu Feb 27, 2014 7:13 am

Ok, so now I'll try releasing the minreputation to 0...
Uh, Oh... Well, I should call the topic closed.

carriontrooper
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 2:14 pm

Re: On topic of custom quests...

Post by carriontrooper » Thu Feb 27, 2014 3:23 pm

Just to be clear, that 4*64 means you have to trade 4*64 deniers. Which means 256 deniers traded (buy/sell).
Probably.

Post Reply