Custom Buildings Help

Creating new content for Millénaire
Post Reply
Grymestone
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2013 9:23 pm

Custom Buildings Help

Post by Grymestone » Fri Dec 13, 2013 9:31 pm

I've been toying around with making custom buildings on my server and I've made a set that I'd like to use. So far I've been using the console to make sure the tags and construction works. Now that I have these however I can't seem to build them in a player controlled village. First I tried adding them to the custom content folder which didn't work. I then added them to the core buildings folder and then added them to the village controlled file to see if that would work. The Console says it cant find the building (though it will tell me if I'm missing tags or if the building is inhabited and doesn't have a sleeping position. So it realizes the files are there so I can fix them.) and now I can't spawn a controlled village. Any ideas on what I've done wrong?

User avatar
druha
Posts: 275
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2013 10:09 pm

Re: Custom Buildings Help

Post by druha » Fri Dec 13, 2013 9:49 pm

Well until all the tag and other issues are fixed with the buildings it won't show up for any village and might even break the village entirely.

If you have fixed all those issues and it's still not showing the controlled village list, can you post a copy of your modified village file, the building files and any subsequent files it needs (villagers, shops, etc) somewhere for us to look at? And also give us the folder paths where you are putting the files. Just want to make sure all your formatting is correct and such.

Grymestone
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2013 9:23 pm

Re: Custom Buildings Help

Post by Grymestone » Fri Dec 13, 2013 10:52 pm

I think I may have found the issue one of my buildings doesn't have a rest zone. Now does each upgrade have to have the same rest zone in the same location? I attached a file with my buildings in there I have yet to add the rest zones. Also I remember seeing something on the forums about a main chest. Does each of my buildings need a chest? And one last question sub-buildings, when building these can you make upgrades for sub-buildings separate on the list or is it just upgrade the building once and then a sub-building is placed down instead of any major construction and you upgrade it again and the castle upgrades. Thanks for your help! I used the vanilla villagers and tags as templates for my buildings to make sure I had everything. I also attached the village file. The village file is from the modified Norman replacement pack by CrikCrok & willvette which I see on the forums is currently being updated so its a little out of date. http://millenaire.org/library/view.php?cid=93 is the link I used. I just want to add some buildings to my own server and was hoping it'd be compatible.

EDIT: Right so I added sleep points in the same position across all the upgrades as I found in the vanilla set ups and it now says this in console:
5.1.11 13-12-2013 20:17:38 ERROR: controlled: Could not recognise parameter ?name: ?name:Seigneurie
5.1.11 13-12-2013 20:17:38 ERROR: controlled: Could not understand line: core:playerestatecore:Final_Barrackscore:longhousecore:housecore:weavercore:treasurycore:stable
5.1.11 13-12-2013 20:17:38 ERROR: null: No name found for village: controlled
5.1.11 13-12-2013 20:17:38 ERROR: controlled: Could not recognise parameter ?name: ?name:Seigneurie
5.1.11 13-12-2013 20:17:38 ERROR: controlled: When loading village type controlled could not find core building type house.
5.1.11 13-12-2013 20:17:38 ERROR: controlled: When loading village type controlled could not find core building type weaver.
5.1.11 13-12-2013 20:17:38 ERROR: controlled: When loading village type controlled could not find core building type stable.
5.1.11 13-12-2013 20:17:38 ERROR: null: No name found for village: controlled
5.1.11 13-12-2013 20:17:38 MAJOR: null: Loading language: fr
Attachments
custom_buildings.rar
My custom buildings with .png and .txt files inside.
(8.22 KiB) Downloaded 194 times

User avatar
druha
Posts: 275
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2013 10:09 pm

Re: Custom Buildings Help

Post by druha » Sat Dec 14, 2013 4:05 am

Are you editing these with something like Notepad? Don't. Notepad and programs like it screw up formatting on text files. Get a real text editor like TextPad or something.

Also, the names of the buildings in the village file have to match exactly. That includes capitalization.

Re-save the files in another text editor and make the names match exactly and let us know how that turns out.

Grymestone
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2013 9:23 pm

Re: Custom Buildings Help

Post by Grymestone » Sat Dec 14, 2013 7:40 pm

So I tried what you said and now the console is giving me these errors. I'm not to worried about the pigfarm,sheepchickenfarm,quarry and cattlefarm because the console always spits that out but for some reason it works so I don't know but whenever I get the error for controlled villages it either doesn't allow me to spawn the modded millenaire village or the default spawns and I can edit it with default buildings. Now Im thinking that the first error might be caused by me placing the files in the regular millenaire file to see if that would fix the error a while back. I might try going in and deleting those. I have gone in and resaved everything using Notepad++ So I'm hoping that doesn't mess anything up like notepad.


5.1.11 14-12-2013 14:26:27 Starting new session. Mods: examplemod NORMAN
5.1.11 14-12-2013 14:26:31 ERROR: Culture: japanese: Unknown parameter when loading shop japaneseinn.txt: buyingPrice=chickenmeat,20
5.1.11 14-12-2013 14:26:33 Exception when loading Final Barracks_A.txt plan set in culture norman:
5.1.11 14-12-2013 14:26:33 org.millenaire.common.MLN$MillenaireException: No file found for building Final BarracksA
at org.millenaire.common.construction.BuildingPlanSet.loadPictPlans(BuildingPlanSet.java:158)
at org.millenaire.common.construction.BuildingPlan.loadPlans(BuildingPlan.java:1577)
at org.millenaire.common.Culture.initialise(Culture.java:1569)
at org.millenaire.common.Culture.loadCultures(Culture.java:989)
at org.millenaire.common.forge.Mill.load(Mill.java:725)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Unknown Source)
at cpw.mods.fml.common.FMLModContainer.handleModStateEvent(FMLModContainer.java:545)
at sun.reflect.GeneratedMethodAccessor3.invoke(Unknown Source)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Unknown Source)
at com.google.common.eventbus.EventHandler.handleEvent(EventHandler.java:74)
at com.google.common.eventbus.SynchronizedEventHandler.handleEvent(SynchronizedEventHandler.java:45)
at com.google.common.eventbus.EventBus.dispatch(EventBus.java:313)
at com.google.common.eventbus.EventBus.dispatchQueuedEvents(EventBus.java:296)
at com.google.common.eventbus.EventBus.post(EventBus.java:267)
at cpw.mods.fml.common.LoadController.sendEventToModContainer(LoadController.java:201)
at cpw.mods.fml.common.LoadController.propogateStateMessage(LoadController.java:181)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Unknown Source)
at com.google.common.eventbus.EventHandler.handleEvent(EventHandler.java:74)
at com.google.common.eventbus.SynchronizedEventHandler.handleEvent(SynchronizedEventHandler.java:45)
at com.google.common.eventbus.EventBus.dispatch(EventBus.java:313)
at com.google.common.eventbus.EventBus.dispatchQueuedEvents(EventBus.java:296)
at com.google.common.eventbus.EventBus.post(EventBus.java:267)
at cpw.mods.fml.common.LoadController.distributeStateMessage(LoadController.java:112)
at cpw.mods.fml.common.Loader.initializeMods(Loader.java:699)
at cpw.mods.fml.server.FMLServerHandler.finishServerLoading(FMLServerHandler.java:107)
at cpw.mods.fml.common.FMLCommonHandler.onServerStarted(FMLCommonHandler.java:355)
at net.minecraft.server.dedicated.DedicatedServer.func_71197_b(DedicatedServer.java:175)
at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.run(MinecraftServer.java:633)
at net.minecraft.server.ThreadMinecraftServer.run(ThreadMinecraftServer.java:16)
5.1.11 14-12-2013 14:26:33 ERROR: norman:quarry_A0: Could not recognise key on line: ?max:2
5.1.11 14-12-2013 14:26:34 WARNING: norman:cattlefarm_A3: Odd number of cow spawn: 7
5.1.11 14-12-2013 14:26:34 WARNING: norman:cattlefarm_A4: Odd number of cow spawn: 7
5.1.11 14-12-2013 14:26:34 WARNING: norman:cattlefarm_A6: Odd number of cow spawn: 9
5.1.11 14-12-2013 14:26:34 WARNING: norman:cattlefarm_A7: Odd number of cow spawn: 9
5.1.11 14-12-2013 14:26:34 WARNING: norman:pigfarm_A0: Odd number of pigs spawn: 3
5.1.11 14-12-2013 14:26:34 ERROR: norman:quarry_A0: Could not recognise key on line: ?max:2
5.1.11 14-12-2013 14:26:34 WARNING: norman:sheepchickenfarm_A1: Odd number of sheep spawn: 3
5.1.11 14-12-2013 14:26:34 WARNING: norman:sheepchickenfarm_A2: Odd number of chicken spawn: 3
5.1.11 14-12-2013 14:26:34 WARNING: norman:sheepchickenfarm_A3: Odd number of chicken spawn: 3
5.1.11 14-12-2013 14:26:34 WARNING: norman:sheepchickenfarm_A3: Odd number of sheep spawn: 5
5.1.11 14-12-2013 14:26:34 ERROR: controlled: Could not recognise parameter ?name: ?name:Seigneurie
5.1.11 14-12-2013 14:26:34 ERROR: controlled: Could not understand line: core:playerestatecore:Final_Barrackscore:longhousecore:Housecore:Weavercore:treasurycore:Stable
5.1.11 14-12-2013 14:26:34 ERROR: null: No name found for village: controlled
5.1.11 14-12-2013 14:26:34 ERROR: controlled: Could not recognise parameter ?name: ?name:Seigneurie
5.1.11 14-12-2013 14:26:34 ERROR: null: No name found for village: controlled
5.1.11 14-12-2013 14:26:34 MAJOR: null: Loading language: fr

Gavinator25
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2013 8:25 pm

Re: Custom Buildings Help

Post by Gavinator25 » Sat Dec 14, 2013 8:32 pm

Personally, I use PSPad Editor. It is a lot better then Notepad and also Kinniken himself has recommended it. One thing I always do is try and compare whatever I am working on with the actual base files. It may take a hundred times of checking, but eventually you will notice something. Make sure you are using semicolons ';' to separate the different entries, such as:

Code: Select all

name:House;max:1
I will try and figure out what else is wrong with it, but for now I suggest you snoop around and compare your files with files that work.
Seljuk Turks culture creator
Message me on here or at the minecraftforum.net at Gavinator25

Grymestone
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2013 9:23 pm

Re: Custom Buildings Help

Post by Grymestone » Sun Dec 15, 2013 12:29 am

So a few things, I fixed all the issues and the console is now happy with my buildings. Removed them from the millenaire folder and placed them in the mods folder and I can now spawn the controlled village. I found my error was in Notepad. As it were the damage caused by Notepad to a file is irreversible and I had to go to a fresh file to correct the issue. Now everything is fine except for one thing. When I spawn the controlled village my new village buildings do not show up. So how do I go about fixing this?

Gavinator25
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2013 8:25 pm

Re: Custom Buildings Help

Post by Gavinator25 » Sun Dec 15, 2013 1:04 am

I'm glad that you took up mine and Druha's advice on getting rid of Notepad, and if you don't mind I would ask that you tell people to not use Notepad so these mistakes quit popping up.
I have always had trouble with Player Controlled villages, and so I am the wrong man for this. For the life of me I cannot make a Player Controlled village, sorry.
Seljuk Turks culture creator
Message me on here or at the minecraftforum.net at Gavinator25

Grymestone
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2013 9:23 pm

Re: Custom Buildings Help

Post by Grymestone » Sun Dec 15, 2013 3:33 am

Well I sat there for a while and my friend mentioned something about his minecraft single player. It was then I had an epiphany. The menu for player controlled villages is not server side. Its player side. SOOO I placed all my server files into the folder for my single player stuff and like magic it worked. Huzzah! So for future reference Custom buildings and the file for custom villages must not only be on the server they must be on your single player files as well if you want to control them.

Post Reply